What is IWA 14?

What is IWA?

IWA stands for International Workshop Agreement, established in 2013. Overseen by the International Organisation for Standardisation, the standard is led by CPNI, BSI and put together by a number of organisations.

How does IWA relate to PAS and ASTM?

IWA-14 combines elements of PAS 68, PAS 69 and the American Standard, ASTM. The test consists of a vehicle being driven into a vehicle security barrier (VSB) to access its effectiveness.

To help you understand a performance rating for an IWA-14 product, we have put together the below graphic which explains what the different sections of the performance classification mean.

What is IWA-14?

A performance classification can differ from the above, depending on the following:

  • The vehicle: There are nine different types of vehicles which can be used in IWA-14 testing. The weight of the vehicle can also vary. 
  • The speed: Various speeds can be used during an IWA-14 test. However, the most common speeds range from 32 kph (20 mph) – 80 kph (50 mph).
  • Impact angle: This is most commonly 90? (head-on), but can also be 45?. 
  • The outcome of the test: Penetration results may vary.

You can read more about PAS 68 on our dedicated page here.


What are the differences between IWA and PAS 68?

What is IWA-14?

There are a few differences between IWA-14 and PAS 68, which includes the following…

  • Vehicle weight: The vehicle weight used in IWA-14 testing is 7.2 tonnes, in comparison to PAS 68, which is 7.5 tonnes.
  • Vehicle penetration: In IWA-14, this is measured from the front of the product, not the back of the product (this is also where the datum line also sits). This means that the penetration result between the two tests cannot be compared.
  • Debris: There is no debris value in IWA-14 testing.

If you require any further advice on our crash products or crash test standards, please do not hesitate to get in contact with our knowledgeable team who will be happy to assist you.

Like that? Read these...